In Minnesota, you qualify for work comp benefits as long as you are an employee under the law. You are entitled to workers’ compensation benefits for conditions that have been caused or aggravated by a work injury or activity. A work-injury can be caused from anything from a specific event, repetitive work activities, or occupational diseases contracted due to hazards or exposures from the employment.Workers’ compensation benefits are paid regardless of any fault of either the employer or employee.
How Do I Know if I Have a Claim?
If you have been injured at work and the doctor confirms that you have a workplace injury, you are likely entitled to workers' compensation benefits such as wage loss and medical benefits. When you come to my law office, I will ask you detailed questions regarding the:
• Nature of the accident
• Extent of the injury
• Missed work
• Paid medical benefits and wages
After a work-related injury, you are entitled to receive workers' compensation benefits. What you might not realize is that there are steps you can take to make sure you are receiving the maximum amount of compensation available under the law.
You must do the following:
• Report your injury to your employer
• Seek medical treatment
• Stay in frequent contact with your health care providers. *
• Seek a qualified rehabilitation consultant (QRC)
• Follow and respect all medical restrictions
• Inform your employer regarding all of your work restrictions
How can I hire an attorney, if I just sustained a work injury?
There is no fee to consult or hire The Law Office of Tejeda Guzman. In Minnesota, attorneys are paid 20 percent of the first $130,000, of benefits recovered. In Minnesota attorney fees must be approved by a workers' compensation judge.
To learn more about temporary and permanent disability, qualifications, what kind of compensation you might seek, insurance, affordability and more, visit our Workers' Compensation FAQ page.